In June 2014, Purebred Breeders donated a friendly Golden Retriever puppy named Denver to Made In Texas Assistance Dogs. Denver is in his early stages of training and currently living with his Puppy Raisers. He’s learning basic commands and potty training, but when he gets older he will grow up to be a mobility assistance service dog. Every month we receive a letter from Denver on his progress.


January 2015

Denver januaryHello Everyone!

This year has started off great with new learning opportunities and fun activities!

I love to retrieve things for people, so I have been working on that skill quite a bit. Sometimes I get to keep whatever I retrieve and other times I bring it to my trainer. I’m always eager to pick things up when we’re out and about, but wait to be told it’s ok. It’s important to not take other people’s toys!

I’ve been working hard on honing my skills out in public. I go with my trainer to the post office, hardware stores, pharmacies – all sorts of places. As a working service dog, I know I’m going to have to go lots of places with my partner, so I have to do lots of practicing now.

denver january 2I had a new buddy come over for playtime for a week this month! His name is Dash and he was pretty easy going. I pestered him to play with me a lot, but he helped me rest with down stays too. All in all I think we were good at balancing each other out.

At the end of the day, I’m so tired from all the fun and learning that I just love crashing on my new bed from my sponsors. I sleep so well and wake up happy every day, ready for the next adventure!Denver january 3I’ll have more to report next month because I know my trainers are planning on teaching me more new commands, so I can’t wait to share my experiences again!

Woof,
Denver

Photos courtesy of: Made In Texas Assistance Dogs


Keep Up With Denver – CLICK to read his past letters.

December

November

October

September

August

July

Leave a Reply

Category

Donation Program, news