In June 2014, Purebred Breeders donated a friendly Golden Retriever puppy named Denver to Made In Texas Assistance Dogs. Denver is in his early stages of training and currently living with his Puppy Raisers. He’s learning basic commands and potty training, but when he gets older he will grow up to be a mobility assistance service dog. Every month we receive a letter from Denver on his progress.


April 2015

Hello Everyone!

 denver aprilThe fun snow from last month is long gone and has been replaced with lots of rain. I find it fun to go out when it’s wet because it brings so many new smells for me to experience. It makes it tough on my puppy raisers though, because it’s not as easy for them to take me on walks or outings. We ended up spending more time playing fetch indoors, which just isn’t as much fun or as big of a challenge.

My puppy raisers did get time to work out in the yard several times to plant flowers. This gave me a great opportunity to show how well I behave around other dogs and people. I would lay down and stay on the front yard while people walked by with their dogs. I really wanted to get up and meet them, but never got up unless I was given permission.

I mentioned last time that I’m so comfortable with my crate now, that I’ll go into it all on my own. I can now tell you that when my puppy raisers are getting ready to leave I now will go ahead and get in my crate without them denver april 2even having to tell me. I can tell it’s time when they put their shoes on and pick up their keys.

I’m still working on new skills and commands, but I’m also having to be taught how to control my retriever instincts! I’m starting to bring shoes and socks to my puppy raisers without being asked – I just can’t help myself. They’re working on getting me to stop this habit.

Otherwise, I think I’m getting to be a pretty good service dog and can’t wait to make everyone proud of my progress!

More updates next month!

Woof,

Denver


 

Keep Up With Denver – CLICK to read his past letters.

March

February

January

December

November

October

September

August

July

 

Leave a Reply

Category

Donation Program, news